hpc-ch forum on User-Centric View on HPC

H8-01-D (Campus Biotech)


Campus Biotech

H8 (auditorium) 01 (floor 1) Parking available next to the building (please contact raluca.hodoroaba@cscs.ch to secure a spot)
Arnaud Hungler (Health 2030 Genome Center), Ioannis Xenarios (Health 2030 Genome Center), Michele De Lorenzi (CSCS)

Placing users at the centre of the design of HPC Infrastructure has been always a challenging effort. With the democratization of computational usage in different fields of biomedical science, rethinking and reshaping HPC is a necessity. Regardless of the context (large university supercomputer, small company cluster or anything in between), considering the usage before design or maintenance is even more critical. 
HPC resource mutualization is also an under-appreciated aspect from a user perspective. Balancing the needs and requirements for an efficient HPC infrastructure will be the central topic of this HPC-CH conference. 

  • How to understand your users' needs? 
  • What impact does the usage have on the design and maintenance? 
  • How to make different use cases co-hosted? (Single large parallel job versus many small jobs, or direct user versus automated software) 
  • How do you teach your users? / How do the users teach you? 
  • How to manage the compromise between usability and security  
  • Adam Henderson
  • Adrien ALBERT
  • Alexander Kashev
  • Alexandre Wetzel
  • Andrei Plamada
  • Antonio Russo
  • Arkadiy Shevrikuko
  • Arnaud Hungler
  • Bastian Bukatz
  • Ben Cumming
  • Carlo Antonio Pignedoli
  • Carlos Fenoy
  • Christian Bolliger
  • Christoph Witzig
  • Cristian RUIZ SANABRIA
  • Cédric Howald
  • Dries Verachtert
  • Edoardo Baldi
  • Elena TORRES
  • Emmanuel Jeanvoine
  • Filippo Stenico
  • Florent Ollinet
  • Geoffrey Fucile
  • Gilles Fourestey
  • Hardik Kothari
  • Henry Luetcke
  • Ilya Kolpakov
  • Ioannis Xenarios
  • Jani Heikkinen
  • Jean-Baptiste Aubort
  • Jean-Luc Falcone
  • Johann FLEURY
  • Julia Gustavsen
  • Julien Ollivier
  • Loick Pipolo
  • Lorenzo Cerutti
  • Luca Cervigni
  • Maria Grazia Giuffreda
  • Mei-Chih Chang
  • Michele De Lorenzi
  • Nadejda Marounina
  • Nick Holway
  • Nina Loktionova
  • Oksana Riba Grognuz
  • Olli Salo
  • Pablo Fernandez
  • Pablo Llopis
  • Pierre Berthier
  • Pierre-Yves Burgi
  • Prashanth Kanduri
  • Raed Arous
  • Raluca Hodoroaba
  • Ramona Caulea
  • Ricardo Silva
  • Roberto Fabbretti
  • Roman Briskine
  • Samuel Fux
  • Shubham Kapoor
  • Sofiane Sarni
  • Stefan Weber
  • Sudershan Lakshmanan
  • Sébastien Moretti
  • Thomas Jakobsche
  • TIm Robinson
  • Victor Holanda Rusu
  • Yann Sagon