Feb 15 – 17, 2021
Europe/Zurich timezone
In honor of Prof. Dr. Petr Novák

About Prof. Dr. Petr Novák

Prof. Dr. Petr Novák, Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry, build up the Section “Electrochemical Energy Storage” at the Paul Scherrer Institute in Villigen, Switzerland. He is Professor at the Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zurich).

Prof. Dr. Petr Novák has been working in the field of technical electrochemistry all his professional life, focusing on batteries, mainly lithium-based. Trained in technical electrochemistry at the University of Chemistry and Technology in Prague, Czech Republic (with Ivo Roušar), in 1983 he joined the J. Heyrovský Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague (with a short period at the Technical University of Linköping, Sweden in 1986; with Olle Inganäs), later he worked as Alexander von Humboldt-Fellow at the University of Bonn, Germany (1988-1989; with Wolf Vielstich). Since 1991 Professor Novák has been working at the Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland.

Prof. Dr. Petr Novák's research interests span across wide range of topics related to battery materials’ electrochemistry and interfacial electrochemistry in nonaqueous batteries. He follows a systemic approach with focus on the interactions of various components in battery systems. During his career, the dominant topics included: nonaqueous electrochemistry, carbons, conducting polymers, inorganic electrode materials and organic electrolytes for batteries, interfaces in nonaqueous systems, and especially the development of electrochemical operando methods.

Apart from many technical reports, Prof. Dr. Petr Novák is author or co-author of 13 patents. He has published more than 320 papers in leading scientific journals and has collected over 21,000 career citations (Web of Science Career h Index: 64; Google Scholar Career h Index: 75).

Prof. Dr. Petr Novák was awarded the Tajima Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry, the Technology Award of the Battery Division of The Electrochemical Society, Inc., and the 2020 Yeager Award of the International Battery Association for outstanding contributions to electrochemical energy conversion and storage science over a protracted period.