Oct 16 – 20, 2016
Europe/Zurich timezone

Commissioning of new DC muon beam line, MuSIC-RCNP at Osaka University

Oct 19, 2016, 12:20 PM
Oral Fundamental physics and precision experiments with muons, pions, neutrons, antiprotons, and other particles We - 2


Dr Dai Tomono (Osaka University)


We have constructed a new DC muon beamline, MuSIC (MUon Science Innovative muon beam Channel) at Research Center for Nuclear Physics (RCNP), Osaka University. The MuSIC comprises the world’s most efficient DC muon source using the first pion capture solenoid system and muon beam transport magnets from the solenoid end to an experimental port. We are now commissioning the beamline and alreadyobtained in-flight decay and surface muon beams in 2015. The surface muon beam yield is about 10^4 muon/(sec·1µA proton beam) and the in-flight decay muon yield is 10^4 –10^5 muon/(sec·1µA proton beam). We also measured beam profiles and spin precession amplitudes to calculate spin polarization of the muon beam. After the beamline commissioning, we are planning variety of scientific programs, especially for muonic X-ray measurements with negative muons for nuclear physics, chemistry, and astrophysics. Condensed matter physics with μSR measurements also will be carried out. A design of new experimental apparatus for the μSR measurements is now in progress. In our presentation, we will introduce the MuSIC beamline including results of the beamline commissioning and the status of development of the μSR apparatus, and then we will discuss future prospects for the MuSIC-RCNP beamline.

Primary author

Dr Dai Tomono (Osaka University)


Mr Akihiro Nanbu (Osaka University) Prof. Akihiro Taniguchi (Kyoto University Research Reactor Institute) Dr Akira Sato (Osaka University) Mr Go Yoshida (Osaka University) Dr Hideyuki Sakamoto (Osaka University) Dr Kazuhiko Ninomiya (Osaka University) Dr Keiji Takahisa (Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University) Prof. Kichiji Hatanaka (Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University) Prof. Masaharu Ieiri (KEK) Dr Michifumi Minakawa (KEK) Prof. Mitsuhiro Fukuda (Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University) Dr Patrick Strasser (KEK) Prof. Shunpei Morinobu (Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University) Mr Takeshi Saito (University of Tokyo) Dr Teiichiro Matsuzaki (RIKEN Nishina Center) Dr Wataru Higemoto (Advanced Science Research Center, Japan Atomic Energy Agency) Prof. Yasuhiro Miyake (KEK-IMSS, J-PARC MUSE) Prof. Yoshiharu Mori (Kyoto University Research Reactor Institute) Dr Yoshitaka Kawashima (esearch Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University) Prof. Yoshitaka Kuno (Osaka University) Mr Yu Nakazawa (Osaka University) Prof. koichiro shimomura (KEK IMSS)

Presentation materials