Oct 20 – 25, 2019
Europe/Zurich timezone

Latest results of the high-precision mass spectrometer Pentatrap

Oct 22, 2019, 5:08 PM
WHGA/001 - Auditorium (PSI)

WHGA/001 - Auditorium



Mr Christoph Schweiger (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik)


High-precision mass-ratio measurements with relative uncertainties below $10^{-11}$ have applications, among others, in tests of the theory of special relativity (SRT) [1], bound-state quantum electrodynamics (QED) [2] and neutrino physics research [3, 4]. This precision is achievable in Penning-trap mass spectrometry, where the mass of a charged particle is determined by measuring its free cyclotron frequency in a strong magnetic field.

With the first proof-of-principle mass-ratio measurements of xenon isotopes the novel high-precision Penning-trap mass spectrometer PENTATRAP [5], located at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik in Heidelberg, has recently demonstrated a relative mass-ratio precision of $10^{-11}$ using highly charged xenon ions. Unique features of the setup are the use of electron beam ion traps [6, 7] as external ion sources for highly-charged ions and a stack of five cylindrical Penning traps [8]. This allows for simultaneous storage and measurement of several ion species, reducing systematic errors. Long storage times due to a cryogenic environment and dedicated image current detection systems [9] with single ion sensitivity allow for high-precision determination of the cyclotron frequencies in all traps.

Recent and ongoing measurements concentrate on nuclides relevant for neutrino physics research, namely $^{187}\mathrm{Re}$ and $^{163}\mathrm{Ho}$ [3, 4]. Preliminary results of the current measurements of rhenium and holmium as well as the present status of the experimental setup of PENTATRAP and future projects will be presented.

[1] S. Rainville et al., Nature 483, 1096 (2005).
[2] F. Köhler-Langes et al., Nature Comm. 7, 10246 (2016).
[3] S. Eliseev et al., Ann. Phys. 525, 707 (2013).
[4] L. Gastaldo et al., Eur. Phys. J. ST 226, 1623 (2017).
[5] J. Repp et al., Appl. Phys. B107, 983 (2012).
[6] G. Zschornack at al., Rev. Sci. Instr. 79, 02A703 (2008).
[7] P. Micke et al., Rev. Sci. Instr. 89, 063109 (2018).
[8] C. Roux et al., Appl. Phys. B108, 997 (2012).
[9] H. Nagahama et al., Rev. Sci. Instr. 87, 113305 (2016).

Primary authors

Mr Christoph Schweiger (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) José R. Crespo López-Urrutia (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Menno Door (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Sergey Eliseev (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Pavel Filianin (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Wenjia Huang (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Ms Charlotte König (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Ms Kathrin Kromer (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Marius Müller (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Yuri N. Novikov (Petersburg Nucelar Physics Institute) Mr Alexander Rischka (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Ms Rima X. Schüssler (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik) Mr Klaus Blaum (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.