Oct 16 – 20, 2016
Europe/Zurich timezone

Neutron decay measurements with PERKEO III

Oct 18, 2016, 6:37 PM
Poster Low energy precision tests of the Standard Model Poster Session


Mr Christoph Roick (TU Muenchen)


Neutron beta decay is an excellent system to study the charged weak interaction experimentally. The decay is precisely described by theory and unaffected by nuclear structure effects. Observables are numerous correlation coefficients which e.g. relate the spin of the neutron and the momenta of the particles, spectra and the neutron lifetime. Most importantly, precision measurements in neutron beta decay are used to investigate the structure of the weak interaction beyond the V-A of the standard model and to derive the element Vud of the CKM matrix. The instrument PERKEO III was used to investigate angular correlations of the emission directions of all three decay products with respect to the neutron spin using a pulsed cold neutron beam. The measurement of the beta asymmetry A is the most precise way to determine ratio of coupling constants λ = gA / gV. Combining this result with the proton asymmetry C or the neutrino asymmetry B allows to derive limits on non-standard couplings. For the determination of B and C, a combined detector system, allowing the simultaneous detection of electrons and protons, was used. This poster will the present the detection concept and the current status of the measurements performed at the PF1B cold neutron beam line at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble.

Primary author

Mr Christoph Roick (TU Muenchen)


A. Pethoukhov (Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble) Prof. Bastian Märkisch (Technische Universität München) D. Werder (Physikalisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg) Dirk Dubebrs (Physikalisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg) G. Konrad (Atominstitut, Technische Universität Wien & Stefan Meyer Institut, Wien) H. Mest (Physikalisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg) H. Saul (Atominstitut, Technische Universität Wien & Technische Universität München) Hartmut Abele (Atominstitut, Technische Universität Wien) L. Raffelt (Technische Universität München & Physikalisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg) M. Klopf (Atominstitut, Technische Universität Wien) P. Lennert (Physikalisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg) T. Soldner (Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble) U. Schmidt (Physikalisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg) W. Mach (Atominstitut, Technische Universität Wien) X. Wang (Atominstitut, Technische Universität Wien)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.