There will be a short downtime of Indico today (the exact time is not known) due to a security-related reboot campaign affecting the infrastructure on which Indico is hosted. Sorry for the inconvenience!

VUVX Awards and Prizes

VUVX Awards & Prizes

---The VUVX Conference Award---

The 2016 award winners are
For Atomic and Molecular Physics and optics:
Dr. Markus Schoeffler, Frankfurt  for his groundbreaking multi coincidence experiments on photoionization of atoms and molecules
For Condensed Matter Physics:
Dr. Akira Sekiyama, Osaka for his pioneering work on bulk-sensitive high-resolution photoemission and photoemission dichroism studies of the electronic structures of strongly correlated systems

The VUVX Conference Award recognizes outstanding experimental and/or theoretical contributions to the scientific areas of relevance to this conference series, ranging from condensed matter studies to gas-phase and cluster research. It is to be awarded to a scientist in mid-career, who has made significant contributions to the field over the past decade or more. Nominations will be solicited from the VUVX International Scientific Committee and the VUVX community at large. The Award Committee will consist of senior scientists in the field with a broad geographical and scientific representation, typically members of the VUVX International Scientific Committee.
This award was initiated at VUVX2010, where it was sponsored by the Canadian Institute for Synchrotron Radiation. The award consists of a plenary lecture at the conference, a cash prize, and coverage of travel and accommodation costs to attend the conference.
The two categories for the mid-career awards are
VUVX Conference Award in atomic, molecular and optical physics - sponsored by the Swiss Light Source (SLS) in 2016
VUVX Conference Award in condensed matter physics - sponsored by SPECS in 2016
VUVX2010 awardees: Eli Rotenberg (condensed matter); Uwe Hergenhahn (AMO)
VUVX2013 awardees: Giacomo Ghiringhelli (condensed matter); Artem Rudenko (AMO)
Nomination procedure: 
A nominating letter summarizing the achievements warranting such an award should be submitted electronically to the chairman of the Award Committee, Dr. Amina-Taleb-Ibrahimi (, along with a curriculum vitae of the candidate. Additional letters of support may also be provided. The deadline for submittal of nominations is 22. April 2016. 

---The VUVX Student Award---

The 2016 award winners are:
Jun Li, Western Uni Canada, Microscopy  for his work on soft X-ray studies of iron oxide nanostructure
Victoria Nefedova, Czech Republic, ELI Project  for her work on development of High-order Harmonic generation laser sources  

See also Award section Journal of Electron Spectroscopy and Related Phenomena

A VUVX Student Prize was also inaugurated at VUVX2010. This Prize consists of a certificate, payment of the registration fee, a cash prize, partial support of costs to attend the conference and an oral presentation in an award session. It will be awarded on the basis of information provided to the VUVX Awards Committee (submitted electronically to the chairman of the Award Committee, Dr. Amina-Taleb-Ibrahimi -, including a curriculum vitae, two letters of recommendation, and an extended abstract of the work to be presented at the Conference. The 2016 award is sponsored by Elsevier. The deadline for submittal of nominations is 22. April 2016. 
The two categories for the student awards are:
VUVX Student Award in atomic, molecular and optical physics
VUVX Student Award in condensed matter physics
VUVX2010 awardee: Suet-Yi (Shirley) Liu
VUVX2013 awardee: Zheng Li

---EPS Poster Prize---

The EPS encourages recognition of the scientific merit of early career researchers. Grants are available to EPS Europhysics and EPS Sponsored Conferences for poster prize for researchers in the PhD phase of his/her career in recognition of an excellent poster at the conference.

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now